Past Office Bearers

DIABETES IN ASIA STUDY GROUP
OFFICE BEARERS & EXECUTIVE MEMBERS
2006 - Cape Town

Steering Committee

A meeting was held in Cape Town 2/12/2006 to establish Diabetes in Asia Study Group. The following were elected as members of this committee to conduct the affairs of the group until the substantive election, which will be held in 2008 Nepal

Office Bearers 2006 – 2008

Name Position Country E-mail
Prof. Samad Shera Chairman samadshera@gmail.com Pakistan
Dr. Mahen Wijesuriya Vice Chairman amrit@slt.lk SriLanka
Dr. Shaukat Sadikot Vice Chairman smsadikot@gmail.com India
Dr. Abdulla Al Hamaq Secretary General aalhamaq@qf.org.qa Qatar
Prof. Adel El Sayed Coordinator EMME adelaelsayed@gmail.com UK
Dr. Arun Baksi Coordinator General baksi@baksi.co.uk UK
Dr. Abdulla Al Hamaq Treasurer aalhamaq@qf.org.qa Qatar
Prof. Morsi Arab Members morsiarab@dataxprs.com.eg Egypt
Dr. D L Singh Members dhrubasingh@hotmail.com Nepal
Prof. Madhur Bhattarai Members mdb@ntc.net.np Nepal

DIABETES IN ASIA STUDY GROUP
OFFICE BEARERS & EXECUTIVE MEMBERS
2008 - Nepal

Office Bearers 2008 – 2010

Name Position Country E-mail
Prof. Samad Shera President Pakistan samadshera@gmail.com
Dr. Mahen Wijesuriya Vice President SriLanka amrit@slt.lk
Prof. Morsi Arab Members Egypt morsiarab@dataxprs.com.eg
Prof. Abdul Basit Members Pakistan abdulbasit@bide.edu.pk
Dr. Madhur Battarai Members Nepal mdb@ntc.net.np
Dr. Shashank Joshi Members India shashank.sr@gmail.com
Dr. Abdulla Al Hamaq Treasure Qatar aalhamaq@qf.org.qa
Dr. Arun Baksi Secretary General UK baksi@baksi.co.uk
Prof. Hajera Mahtab Members Bangladesh hajeramahtab@gmail.com
Ms. Sharoud Matthis Members Qatar smatthis@qf.org.qa
Prof. Viswanathan Mohan Members India drmohans@diabetes.ind.in
Prof. Adel El Sayed Members Egypt adelaelsayed@gmail.com
Dr.Aly El Sharif Members Egypt alyshrf@hotmail.com
Prof. Sidartawan Soegonda Members Indonesia sidartawansoegondo@mac.com
Dr.Zumin Shi Members China szm@jscdc.cn
Dr. Abdulla Al Hamaq Treasure Qatar aalhamaq@qf.org.qa
Dr. Arun Baksi Secretary General UK baksi@baksi.co.uk
Prof. Hajera Mahtab Members Bangladesh hajeramahtab@gmail.com
Ms. Sharoud Matthis Members Qatar smatthis@qf.org.qa
Prof. Viswanathan Mohan Members India drmohans@diabetes.ind.in
Prof. Adel El Sayed Members Egypt adelaelsayed@gmail.com
Dr.Aly El Sharif Members Egypt alyshrf@hotmail.com
Prof. Sidartawan Soegonda Members Indonesia sidartawansoegondo@mac.com
Dr.Zumin Shi Members China szm@jscdc.cn

DIABETES IN ASIA STUDY GROUP
OFFICE BEARERS & EXECUTIVE MEMBERS
2010 - Qatar

Office Bearers 2010 – 2012

Name Position Country E-mail
Dr. Abdulla Al Hamaq President Qatar aalhamaq@qf.org.qa
Dr. Mahen Wijesuriya Vice President SriLanka amrit@slt.lk
Dr. Arun Baksi General Secretary UK baksi@baksi.demon.co.uk
Prof. Adel El Syed Treasurer Egypt el_sayedadel@hotmail.com
Prof. Samad Shera Past President Pakistan samadshera@gmail.com
Prof. Abdul Basit Member Pakistan bidekarachi@yahoo.com
Dr. Shasank Joshi Member India Shashank.sr@gmail.com
Dr. Zumin Chi Member China zumin.shi@medisin.uio.no
Prof. Akthar Hussain Member Norway akhtar.hussain@medisin.uio.no
Dr. Madhur Battarai Member Nepal mdb@ntc.net.np
Dr. V. Mohan Member India drmohans@diabetes.ind.in
Dr. Bettina Harms Member UK bettinaharms@doctors.org.uk
Dr. Zaman Shaikh Member Pakistan drzamanshaikh@yahoo.com
Prof. Hajera Mehtab Member Banghladesh hanis@bangla.net
Ms.Dhanya Wijesuriya Member Sri Lanka amrit@slt.lk
Prof. Morsi Arab (Egypt) Co-opted Egypt morsiarab@dataxprs.com.eg
Dr. Anil Bhorasker (India) Co-opted India anilbhoraskar@hotmail.com

DIABETES IN ASIA STUDY GROUP
OFFICE BEARERS & EXECUTIVE MEMBERS
2012 - India

Office Bearers – 2012 – 2014

Name Position Country E-mail
Dr. V. Mohan President India drmohans@diabetes.ind.in
Dr. Mohamed Lamki Vice President Oman mallamki@gmail.com
Prof. Abdul Basit General Secretary Pakistan bidekarachi@yahoo.com
Mr. Ashraf. P. V Treasurer Qatar avalappil@qf.org.qa
Dr. Abdulla Al Hamaq Past President Qatar aalhamaq@qf.org.qa
Prof. Mohamed Zaman Sheikh Member Pakistan drzamanshaikh@yahoo.com
Prof. Akhtar Hussain Member Norway akhtar.hussain@medisin.uio.no
Prof. Madhur Bhattarai Member Nepal mdb@ntc.net.np
Prof. Azad Khan Member Bangladesh president@dab-bd.org azadkhan1941@gmail.com
Dr. Banshi Saboo Member India banshisaboo98@gmail.com
Prof. Adel El Sayed Member Egypt el_sayedadel@hotmail.com
Dr. Bettina Member United Kingdom bettinaharms@doctors.org.uk
Dr. Bettina Member United Kingdom bettinaharms@doctors.org.uk
Dr. Shashank Joshi Co-opted India shashank.sr@gmail.com
Dr. Mohammed Hassanein Co-opted United Kingdom mhassanein148@hotmail.com
Dr. Prasad Katulaude Co-opted Sri Lanka prasad.katulanda@yahoo.com
Prof. Samad Shera Constitution Review Committee Pakistan samadshera@gmail.com
Prof. Morsi Arab Constitution Review Committee Egypt morsiarab@dataxprs.com.eg
Dr. Shoukat Sadikot Constitution Review Committee India smsadikot@gmail.com
Dr. Banshi Saboo Membership Committee India banshisaboo@hotmail.com banshisaboo98@gmail.com
Mr. Ashraf. P.V Membership Committee Qatar avalappil@qf.org.qa

DIABETES IN ASIA STUDY GROUP
OFFICE BEARERS & EXECUTIVE MEMBERS
2014 - Oman

Office Bearers – 2014 – 2016

Name Position Country E-mail
Prof. A.K Azad Khan President Bangladesh president@dab-bd.org
Dr. Shasank Joshi VicePresident India shashank.sr@gmail.com
Dr. V. Mohan Past President India drmohans@diabetes.ind.in
Dr. Asher Fawwad Secretary General Pakistan asherfawwad@bideonline.com
Mr. Ashraf. P.V Treasurer Qatar avalappil@qf.org.qa
Dr. Bettina Harms Members United Kingdom bettinaharms@doctors.org.uk
Prof. Peter Schwarz Member Germany Peter.Schwarz@uniklinikum-dresden.de
Prof. Hanan Gawish Member Egypt hanangawish@mans.edu.eg
Dr. Shabeen Naz Masood Member Pakistan sh_naz@yahoo.com
Dr. Arun Baksi Member United Kingdom baksi@baksi.demon.co.uk
Prof Mesbah Syed Kamel Member Egypt kamel20_10@yahoo.com
Dr Banshi Saboo Member India banshisaboo@hotmail.com banshisaboo98@gmail.com

DIABETES IN ASIA STUDY GROUP
OFFICE BEARERS & EXECUTIVE MEMBERS
2016 - Bangladesh

Office Bearers – 2016 – 2018

Name Position Country E-mail
Prof. Adel A El Sayed President Egypt adelaelsayed@gmail.com
Dr. Mesbah Sayed Kamel Vice President Egypt mesbah.kamel54@gmail.com
Dr. Abdulla Al Hamaq Treasurer Qatar aalhamaq@qf.org.qa
Dr Banshi Saboo Gen. Secretary India banshisaboo98@gmail.com banshisaboo@hotmail.com
Dr. Arun k Baksi Member United Kingdom baksi@baksi.co.uk
Prof. Akhtar Hussain Member Norway hussain.akhtar@nord.no
Dr. Bishwajit Bhowmik Member Bangladesh bhowmik@hotmail.com
Prof. Madhur Bhattarai Member Nepal mdb@ntc.net.np
Dr Shashank Joshi Member India shashank.sr@gmail.com
Prof. Shabeen Naz Member Pakistan sh_naz@yahoo.com
Dr. Asher Fawwad Member Pakistan asher.fawwad@bide.edu.pk
Prof. A.K Azad Khan Past President Bangladesh president@dab-bd.org azadkhan1941@gmail.com
Akhtar Hussain President Norway akhtarh2014@yahoo.com

DIABETES IN ASIA STUDY GROUP
OFFICE BEARERS & EXECUTIVE MEMBERS
2018 - Cairo – Egypt

Office Bearers – 2018 – 2020

Name Position Country E-mail
Mesbah Kamel Vice President Egypt mesbah.kamel54@gmail.com
Banshi Saboo Secretary India banshisaboo@hotmail.com banshisaboo98@gmail.com
Biswajit Bhowmic Treasurer Bangladesh bhowmik@hotmail.com
Adel El Sayed Past President Egypt adelaelsayed@gmail.com
Arun Bakshi Member United Kingdom baksi@baksi.co.uk
Asher Fawwad Member Pakistan asher.fawwad@bide.edu.pk
Jamal Belkhadir Member Morocco jamalbelkhadir@yahoo.fr
Lobna Eltony Member Egypt leltoni@yahoo.com
Prasad Katulanda Member Sri Lanka prasad.katulanda@yahoo.com
Shabeen Naz Masood Member Pakistan sh_naz@yahoo.com
Shashank Joshi Past President India shashank.sr@gmail.com
Samad Shera Ex-Officio Member Pakistan samadshera@gmail.com
A. K. Azad Khan Ex-Officio Member Bangladesh president@dab-bd.org
Abdulla Al Hamaq Ex-Officio Member Qatar aalhamaq@qf.org.qa
V. Mohan Ex-Officio Member India drmohans@diabetes.ind.in